New agreement on courts for North Kosovo

In the wee hours of the morning of Tuesday, February 10, the prime ministers of Kosovo and Serbia came to agreement on a key issue that had been lagging almost two years after the 19 April 2013 agreement. The deal foresees that the duties of the one basic court will be split into premises in the four northern municipalities and south and creates ethnic quota systems for judges and employees.

  • There will be one Basic court and one basic prosecution office for the Mitrovica region, though the basic court will have multiple premises. The president of the court will be a Kosovo Serb from northern Kosovo. The chief prosecutor will be a Kosovo Albanian, with offices in the Mitrovica North Administrative Office in the Bosniak Mahala.
  • There are four existing branches of the court: Zubin Potok, Leposavic, Skenderaj and Vushtrri.
  • Allocation of cases to prosecutors is based on expertise, specialization, and personal background knowledge. (This seems set to assure both parties that that their cases will most likely be prosecuted by members of the same ethno-national group.)
  • The court in north Mitrovica will have an appeals division with 5 Kosovo Serbs and 2 Kosovo Albanian judges. It will also house the serious crimes division for the entire region, which will be composed of 4 Kosovo Serbs and 4 Kosovo Albanians. It will also adjudicate over criminal offenses for Mitrovica north and south and Zvecan.
  • The court premises in South Mitrovica will have the department for minors for the entire region. It will adjudicate civil matters, uncontested claims, and minor offenses for Mitrovica north and south and Zvecan.
12/02/2015 - 17:34

12 February 2015 - 17:34

Prishtina Insight is a digital and print magazine published by BIRN Kosovo, an independent, non-governmental organisation. To find out more about the organization please visit the official website. Copyright © 2016 BIRN Kosovo.