Kosovo police officers stand near by national flags of Kosovo and Israel while the virtual ceremony to establish diplomatic ties between the two countries took place at the building of Kosovo's foreign ministry in Pristina, Kosovo, 01 February 2021. Photo: EPA-EFE/VALDRIN XHEMAJ

Kosovo and Israel Sign Visa-Free Waiver

Israel became the 50th country to grant visa-free travel for Kosovo citizens after an agreement was signed in Prishtina on Tuesday, marking a significant diplomatic development between the two countries.

Kosovo Minister of Foreign Affairs Donika Gërvalla-Schwarz, and Israel’s Minister of Internal Affairs, Moshe Arbel, signed an agreement in Prishtina on Tuesday to allow Kosovo citizens to travel to Israel visa-free from September 19, 2024.

Minister Gërvalla-Schwarz described the signing of the agreement as a proof of strong relations between Kosovo and Israel.

“This decision to remove visas for the citizens of our two countries will open a new chapter in the promotion of our country, economic cooperation and development, the educational development of young people as well as the realization of joint projects and initiatives between citizens and our countries in the future”, Gërvalla-Schwarz said.

Israel’s Minister of Internal Affairs, Moshe Arbel (L), Kosovo Minister of Foreign Affairs Donika Gërvalla-Schwarz (R), sign Visa Free Travel Agreement, Prishtina June 18, 2024

Minister Arbel also met with Kosovo’s Prime Minister, Albin Kurti.

Israel’s Ambassador to Kosovo, Tamar Ziv, will also host an event to commemorate Israel’s Independence Day and the Visa Waiver Agreement for Kosovo citizens.

Kosovo and Israel established diplomatic relations in February 2021 following the Washington Agreement, which Kosovo and Serbia signed on September 4, 2020 in an effort to normalize economic relations between the two Balkan countries

Kosovo opened its embassy in Jerusalem in July 2021 and in exchange Israel recognized Kosovo’s independence, as stipulated by the agreement

Israel’s agreement to waive visa requirements for Kosovars was first announced earlier this year by Kosovo’s President, Vjosa Osmani. 

Since January 1, 2024, citizens of Kosovo have been able to travel freely to Schengen Zone countries in Europe.

Additionally, on January 5, Spain, which is one of five EU member countries that does not recognize Kosovo,  also waived visa requirements for Kosovo citizens. 

18/06/2024 - 19:10

18 June 2024 - 19:10

Prishtina Insight is a digital and print magazine published by BIRN Kosovo, an independent, non-governmental organisation. To find out more about the organization please visit the official website. Copyright © 2016 BIRN Kosovo.